2024 Nancy Baym Book Award Nominations

by | Apr 10, 2024 | Administrative, Awards, Conferences | 0 comments

We are delighted to issue the call for nominations for the Nancy Baym Annual Book Award. This award recognizes the best scholarship of the Association of Internet Researchers, and highlights the breadth of work relating to the social and cultural dimensions of networked media.

To be eligible for the award:

  • The book must be authored or co-authored as a monograph and must explore a single topic (edited collections are not eligible).
  • All of the book’s authors must be current members of AoIR at the time of submission (May 10, 2024). Memberships may be purchased here: https://members.aoir.org/.
  • The book must have been published between January 1 and December 31, 2023.

The books will be reviewed by a committee of Andrew Herman-Wilfrid Laurier University (Chair), Nancy Baym-Microsoft Research, Miriam Johnson-Oxford Brookes University, Catherine Knight Steele-University of Maryland, Jessa Lingel-University of Pennsylvania, Jun Liu-University of Copenhagen, John McNutt-University of Delaware.

Each book should be accompanied by an emailed letter of nomination. Self-nominations are most certainly welcome. The letter of nomination, which must be written by a current member of AoIR, should outline:

  • How the book contributes to AoIR’s intellectual community.
  • The book’s unique contributions and overall strengths.
  • If not a self-nomination, the letter should also include a statement that the nominated author has been contacted prior to its submission and accepts the nomination.

Books submitted without a meaningful nomination letter outlining both the strengths of the book and the book’s contribution to the AoIR community to AoIR will not be eligible.

We are happy to accept books in either digital or hard copy. If digital, please send a PDF to bookaward [at] aoir.org or write to ask for individual email addresses.

Hard copies (1 each) should be mailed to:

Andrew Herman
230 Willard Ave.
Toronto, ON M6S 3P8

Nancy Baym
Microsoft, 12th floor
1 Memorial Drive
Cambridge, MA 02142

Catherine Knight Steele
2130 Skinner Bldg
4300 Chapel Drive,
College Park, MD 20740

Miriam Johnson
Headington Hill Hall
School of Arts, Faculty of Technology, Design and Environment
Oxford Brookes University
Oxford OX3 0BP

Jessa Lingel
3620 Walnut St
Philadelphia PA 19104

Jun Liu
Center for Tracking and Society
University of Copenhagen
Karen Blixens Plads 8
DK-2300 Copenhagen S

John McNutt
Please email ac[@]aoir.org to request this mailing address.

Nomination letters and book copies should arrive no later than May 10th.
The winner of the award will be announced in the mid-year 2024. In addition to winning a cash prize, the individual will be presented an award during the AGM at the AoIR conference in Sheffield.

Please contact Andrew Herman (bookaward[at]aoir.org) or President Nicholas John (prez[at]aoir.org) with any questions.