AoIR partnering with Internet Policy Review for Special Issue

AoIR is happy to announce a collaboration with the Internet Policy Review for a special issue highlighting research presented at the #AoIR2017 Networked Publics conference taking place from 19 to 21 October 2017. The open access journal on internet regulation Internet Policy Review, published by HIIG in cooperation with CREATe and ISCC-CNRS, will approach individual researchers who have submitted policy-relevant contributions to #AoIR2017 in order to extend an invitation to submit full papers to the journal.

The special issue on #AoIR2017 is expected to be published on Internet Policy Review in the first quarter of 2018 (Volume 7 Issue 1). Deadline to submit a full paper will be 15 January 2018.

Internet Policy Review (ISSN 2197-6775) is a fully open access journal (the journal does not charge a fee to authors) indexed in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) and the Web of Science Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI). It is also a member of the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA).

For more information:

Posted in Conferences, Publications

2017 Best Dissertation Award

The Best Dissertation Award for 2017 goes to Dr. Julia Beth Ticona for her work “Left to Our Own Devices: Navigating the Risks of Work & Love with Personal Technologies” (University of Virginia).

Dr. Ticona’s work studies our personal technologies with a particular focus on “the problems, anxieties, frustrations, and even joy these devices provoke.” Her perspective is informed by the understanding that while our experiences of the devices are personal they are also shaped by the “current economic and cultural moment in which these devices have had their spectacular rise.”

The committee was impressed with the range and diversity of the informants upon which the study was built. By looking at the everyday practices the work introduces the reader to metaphors such as braided intimacy vs skipping stone intimacies and describes the ways in which personal technologies can build and sustain intimacy.

The committee congratulates Dr. Ticona and looks forward to reading more of her future research.

AoIR is grateful for the hard work by this year’s Best Dissertation Award committee: Mathias Klang (chair), Jeremy Hunsinger, Daren Brabham, Jill Rettberg Walker and Tim Highfield..

Posted in Awards, Conferences

Reminder: AoIR 2017 Early Bird Registration Deadline Coming Up

As we’re getting closer to the 2017 Association of Internet Researchers conference in Tartu, Estonia, please remember that the deadline to register at the lower cost, Early Registration rate is 1 August 2017. At least one author from each accepted paper, panel, or other submission must be registered by that deadline to hold a position in the schedule.

Early Bird Rates (on or before 1 August 2017)

  • Member Student: US$200
  • Non-Member Student: US$250
  • Member Professional: US$345
  • Non-Member Professional: US$410

Registration is available here.

Read more ›

Posted in Conferences Tagged with: , , ,