Call for Nominations for the 2024 AoIR Dissertation Award

by | Apr 18, 2024 | Administrative, Awards | 0 comments

The Association of Internet Researchers is pleased to call for submissions for the 2024 AoIR Dissertation Award. To be eligible for the AoIR Dissertation Award, a PhD dissertation in the area of internet research must have been filed in the 2023 calendar year. Nominations (self and other) must be received by 17 May 2024. All methods and disciplines are welcome.

Submissions details:
– A nomination letter that explains why the dissertation is deserving of the award
– How it contributes to internet research
– A PDF copy of the dissertation should be emailed to dissertationaward [at]
– The graduate or their supervisor must be a member of AoIR (by 17 May 2024)
– Self-nominations are permitted
– Filed in 2023 (meaning fully defended, all edits complete, filed/published with a 2023 copyright)

The recipient of this award will be announced mid-year 2024. In addition to winning a cash prize, the individual will be presented an award during the AGM at #AoIR2024 conference in November.

The committee this year is comprised of Alan Shaw-Leeds Beckett University (Chair), Amelia Johns-University of Technology Sydney, Walter LaMendola-University of Denver, Stephen McConnell-New York University, Sarah Murray-University of Michigan

For any questions please contact Alan Shaw dissertationaward [at] or Nicholas John prez [at]