2018 Nancy Baym Book Award

by | Jun 20, 2018 | Awards, Community, Conferences

It’s a great honor to announce that AoIR’s book award committee has unanimously decided that Lynn Scofield Clark and Regina Marchi’s book Young People and the Future of News is this year’s Nancy Baym Book Award winner!

The committee found it an important book that is substantive and deeply researched, with strong empirical foundations and insightful theoretical grounding and contributions. We believe it helps us understand both today’s news environment and the directions society is likely to go in the future. What’s more, it is a pleasure to read.

There were an outstanding field of nominations this year. The committee was thrilled to see so much great work coming from the AoIR community.

AoIR is grateful to Jeff Hemsley, Nicholas John, and Helen Kennedy along with Nancy Baym, Chair, for their work reviewing this year’s nominations.