Registration Is Open for AoIR 2016

by | May 26, 2016 | Uncategorized

The AoIR 2016 conference committee is delighted to announce that registration is now open for the Berlin conference, Internet Rules!, October 5-8 at Humboldt University, being hosted by our colleagues at the Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society and the Hans Bredow Institute for Media Research.

You can register here. Be sure to log in as a member to get member discounts!

The Early Bird registration deadline is August 1st. After that the price increases, so take advantage of the discount. Please note: those who have had papers accepted and who do not register by the early bird deadline will be removed from the program.

Unlike in past years, there is no dedicated conference hotel. We have identified several hotels with varying costs, all of which are quite near Humboldt University. We strongly encourage you to book early, as the weekend before the conference is a national holiday, and Berlin will be especially busy at that time.

The conference program features José van Dijck as our keynote speaker. Dr. van Dijck is professor of Comparative Media Studies at the University of Amsterdam and has written extensively on Internet culture. Please note that her lecture kicks off the conference on Wednesday evening, October 5th.

We have several preconference workshops as well on October 5th. For doctoral students looking for a chance to get feedback on dissertation ideas and to network with senior scholars in Internet Studies, be sure to apply for the Doctoral Workshop.

In an effort to increase the diversity of attendees to the annual conference, AoIR has been growing a fund for travel scholarships. The deadline to apply for a travel scholarship is June 15th, and information about it can be found here. And, for those of you who register, be generous and make a small contribution to help us sustain (and grow!) this fund.

We are excited to see you in Berlin.

Your conference committee,
Jenny Stromer-Galley, President
Cornelius Puschmann, 2016 program chair
Christian Katzenbach, 2016 local host
Larissa Wunderlich, 2016 local host
Axel Bruns, Vice President
Kelly Quinn, Treasurer