2023 Nancy Baym Book Award Nominations

by | Apr 6, 2023 | Uncategorized

We are pleased to call for nominations for the Nancy Baym Annual Book Award. This award recognizes the best scholarship of the Association of Internet Researchers, and highlights the breadth of work relating to the social and cultural dimensions of networked media.

To be eligible for the award:

  • The book must be authored or co-authored as a monograph and must explore a single topic (edited collections are not eligible).
  • All of the book’s authors must be current members of AoIR at the time of submission (May 1, 2023). Memberships may be purchased here <https://members.aoir.org/>.
  • The book must have been published between January 1 and December 31, 2022.

The books will be reviewed by a committee of Andrews Herman-Wilfrid Laurier University (Chair), Marco Bastos-University College Dublin, Nick Bowman-Syracruse University, Niki Cheong-King’s College London, and Jun Liu-University of Copenhagen.

Each book should be accompanied by an emailed letter of nomination. Self-nominations from AoIR members are welcome. The letter of nomination, which must be written by a current member of AoIR, should outline:

  • How the book contributes to AoIR’s intellectual community.
  • The book’s unique contributions and overall strengths.
  • If not a self-nomination, the letter should also include a statement that the nominated author has been contacted prior to its submission and accepts the nomination.

Books submitted without a meaningful nomination letter outlining both the strengths of the book and the book’s contribution to the AoIR community to AoIR will not be eligible.

We are happy to accept books in either digital or hard copy. If digital, please send pdf to bookaward [at] aoir.org or contact for individual email addresses.

Hard copies (1 each) should be mailed to:

Andrew Herman
230 Willard Ave.
Toronto, ON M6S 3P8

Marco Bastos
University College Dublin
School of Information and Communication Studies
Newman Building, Room C121.
Belfield, Dublin 4, Dublin, Ireland

Nancy Baym
Microsoft, 12th floor
1 Memorial Drive
Cambridge, MA 02142

Nick Bowman
Department of Communications/Magazine, News and Digital Journalism
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
Syracuse University
215 University Place
Syracuse, NY 13244-2100

Dr Niki Cheong
Department of Digital Humanities
Chesham Building 0.13
King’s College London
The Strand

Jun Liu
Department of Communication,
University of Copenhagen
Karen Blixens Plads 8,
DK-2300 Copenhagen S

Nomination letters and book copies should arrive no later than May 1st.

The winner of the award will be announced in the mid-year 2023. In addition to winning a cash prize, the individual will be presented an award during the AGM at the AoIR conference in October.

Please contact Andrew Herman (bookaward[at]aoir.org) or President Tama Leaver (prez[at]aoir.org) if you have any questions about this process.