2022 Nancy Baym Book Award Nominations

by | Mar 30, 2022 | Administrative, Awards, Community

We are pleased to call for nominations for the Nancy Baym Annual Book Award. This award recognizes the best scholarship of the Association of Internet Researchers, and highlights the breadth of work relating to the social and cultural dimensions of networked media.

To be eligible for the award:

  • The book must be authored or co-authored as a monograph and must explore a single topic (edited collections are not eligible).
  • All of the book’s authors must be current members of AoIR at the time of submission (May 1, 2022). Memberships may be purchased here.
  • The book must have been published between January 1 and December 31, 2021.

The books will be reviewed by a committee of Robert W. Gehl-Louisiana Tech University (Chair), Nancy Baym-Microsoft Research, Jakob Linaa Jensen-Aarhus University, Jun Liu-University of Copenhagen, Bjorn Nansen-The University of Melbourne, Robert Tynes-Bard College, Arantxa Vizcaino Verdu-University of Huelva, and Weiyu Zhang-National University of Singapore.

Each book should be accompanied by an emailed letter of nomination. Self-nominations from AoIR members are welcome. The letter of nomination, which must be written by a current member of AoIR, should outline:

  • How the book contributes to AoIR’s intellectual community.
  • The book’s unique contributions and overall strengths.
  • If not a self-nomination, the letter should also include a statement that the nominated author has been contacted prior to its submission and accepts the nomination.

Books submitted without a meaningful nomination letter outlining both the strengths of the book and the book’s contribution to the AoIR community to AoIR will not be eligible.

We are happy to accept books in either digital or hard copy. If digital, please send pdf to bookaward [at] aoir.org or contact for individual email addresses.

Hard copies (1 each) should be mailed to:
Robert W. Gehl
Robinson 212
Louisiana Tech University
Ruston, Louisiana 71272-0001

Nancy Baym
Microsoft, 12th floor
1 Memorial Drive
Cambridge, MA 02142

Jakob Linaa Jensen
Vinloevstien 2
DK-2720 Vanloese

Jun Liu
Department of Communication,
University of Copenhagen
Karen Blixens Plads 8,
DK-2300 Copenhagen S

Bjorn Nansen
Level 2, SCC office
John Medley Building
Melbourne University
Australia, 3010

Robert Tynes
Bard Prison Initiative
Bard College
PO Box 5000
Anannadale-on-Hudson, NY

Arantxa Vizcaino Verdu
Calle Galaroza, 8,
3C Huelva (Huelva)

Weiyu Zhang
Department of Communications and New Media
National University of Singapore
11 Computing Drive
Singapore 117416

Nomination letters and book copies should arrive no later than May 1st.

The winner of the award will be announced in the mid-year 2022. In addition to winning a cash prize, the individual will also be invited to participate at the AoIR conference in November.

Please contact Robert Gehl (bookaward[at]aoir.org) or President Tama Leaver (prez[at]aoir.org) if you have any questions about this process.