2021 Nancy Baym Book Award Nominations

by | Apr 1, 2021 | Administrative, Awards

We are pleased to call for nominations for the Nancy Baym Annual Book Award. This award recognizes the best scholarship of the Association of Internet Researchers, and highlights the breadth of work relating to the social and cultural dimensions of networked media.

To be eligible for the award:

  • The book must be authored or co-authored as a monograph and must explore a single topic (edited collections are not eligible).
  • All of the book’s authors must be current members of AoIR at the time of submission (May 15, 2021). Memberships may be purchased here.
  • The book must have been published between January 1 and December 31, 2020.

The books will be reviewed by a committee of Nicholas John-The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (Chair), Nancy Baym-Microsoft Research, Niki Cheong-Coventry University, Robert W. Gehl-Louisiana Tech University, Heidi McKee-Miami University, Panayiota Tsatsou-University of Leicester, and Robert Tynes-Bard College.

Each book should be accompanied by an emailed letter of nomination. Self-nominations from AoIR members are welcome. The letter of nomination, which must be written by a current member of AoIR, should outline:

  • How the book contributes to AoIR’s intellectual community.
  • The book’s unique contributions and overall strengths.
  • If not a self-nomination, the letter should also include a statement that the nominated author has been contacted prior to its submission and accepts the nomination.

Books submitted without a meaningful nomination letter outlining both the strengths of the book and the book’s contribution to the AoIR community to AoIR will not be eligible.

We are happy to accept books in either digital or hard copy. If digital, please send pdf to bookaward@aoir.org or contact for individual email addresses.

Hard copies (1 each) should be mailed to:
Nicholas John
Department of Communication,
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem,
Mt. Scopus

Nancy Baym
Microsoft, 12th floor
1 Memorial Drive
Cambridge, MA 02142

Niki Cheong
School of Media and Performing Arts, Coventry University
Ellen Terry Building
Jordan Well
CV1 5RW Coventry

Robert W. Gehl
Robinson 212
Louisiana Tech University
Ruston, Louisiana

Heidi McKee
Miami University
Bachelor 364
Oxford, Ohio 45056

Panayiota Tsatsou
School of Media, Communication and Sociology
University of Leicester
Bankfield House
132 New Walk

Robert Tynes
Site Director, Eastern
Bard Prison Initiative
Bard College
PO Box 5000
Annandale-on-Hudson, NY

Nomination letters and book copies should arrive no later than May 15th.

The winner of the award will be announced in the summer of 2021. In addition to winning a cash prize, the individual will also be invited to participate at the AoIR conference in October.

Please contact Nicholas John (bookaward @ aoir.org) or President Lynn Schofield Clark (prez at aoir.org) if you have any questions about this process.