AoIR2022 Conference Committee

Dr. Kylie Jarrett, Programme Chair, is Associate Professor in the Department of Media Studies at Maynooth University. She attended her first AoIR conference in 2001 and has widely researched the political economy of the internet with an emphasis on digital labour. She is author of Digital Labour, Feminism, Labour and Digital Media: The Digital Housewife and co-author of Google and the Culture of Search (with Ken Hillis and Michael Pettit) and NSFW: Sex, Humor and Risk in Social Media (with Susanna Paasonen and Ben Light).


Dr. Aphra Kerr is Professor in the Department of Sociology at Maynooth University, program chair of the MA (Internet and Society) and PI in the ADAPT centre for Digital Content Technology. In 2020 she was accepted into the Academy of Europe and in 2016 she received a Distinguished Scholar award from the international Digital Games Research Association (DiGRA). Current research explores expectations and realities of AI governance, global media and internet concentration, online forms of gambling and diversity in game making cultures. She co-edited the ‘Life (Online)’ AoIR 2020 special issue in Information, Communication and Society, is author of Global Games: Production, Circulation and Policy in the Networked Era, Routledge, 2017, and associate editor of The International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society, Wiley-Blackwell, 2015.


Tanya (Tetyana) Lokot is Associate Professor in Digital Media and Society at the School of Communications, Dublin City University. Her research focuses on protest and digital media in Ukraine and Russia, as well as internet freedom, censorship and internet governance in Eastern Europe. Her work has been published in Information, Communication and Society, Surveillance and Society, International Journal of Communication, Social Media + Society, and Digital Journalism. She is author of Beyond the Protest Square: Digital Media and Augmented Dissent, Rowman & Littlefield, 2021. She is co-founder of the Interdisciplinary Digital Research Group at Dublin City University, Board Member of Theorizing the Web conference, and Chair of the Media, Cities and Space Section, ECREA.


Dr. Caroline O’Sullivan is Senior Lecturer, Head of Creative Media and Assistant Head of the School of Media in Technological University Dublin. She was a member of the management committee of Honeycomb – Creative Works a €5mil INTERREG IV project funded by SUEPB promoting the Creative Industries across the border counties of the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland and West of Scotland. She is the Irish Representative on the executive committee for the International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM) UK and Ireland Branch, and her research interests are in the areas of popular music; reality television; the culture of social media; Identity and expression online; Internet youth culture and gender.


Prof. Eugenia Siapera is Professor and Head of the School of Information and Communication Studies at University College Dublin. Her research interests are in the area of digital and social media, political communication, online journalism, dataification and inequalities. She has recently completed an IRC funded project on racist hate speech in the Irish digital sphere and is also working on a project on the digital memory of conflict (RePAST) funded by the European Commission. She has written numerous articles and book chapters, and is the editor of the Handbook of Global Online Journalism (with A. Veglis, Wiley, 2012) and the author of Understanding New Media (Sage, 2017, second edition). Her most recent book is the edited volume Gender Hate Online (Palgrave, 2019), co-edited with Debbie Ging.