In order to encourage excellence in internet research, AoIR presents annual awards for the best book published during the year and the best dissertation. These awards are reviewed by the leading scholars in our field.

2013 AoIR Book Award

cohen book cover

Julie Cohen, Configuring the Networked Self: Law, Code, and the Play of Everyday Practice. Yale University Press, 2013. More Information

2013 Dissertation Award

Tania Bucher, Programmed Sociality: A Software Studies Perspective on Social Networking Sites. Faculty of Humanities, University of Oslo. 2012. More Information.

2012 AoIR Book Award

Jason Farman, Mobile Interface Theory: Embodied Space and Locative Media. Routledge, 2012. More Information

Honorable mention: Thomas Streeter, The Net Effect: Romanticism, Capitalism, and the Internet, More Information.

2012 AoIR Dissertation Award

Jessica Beyer, Youth and the Generation of Political Consciousness Online, University of Washington. More Information

2011 AoIR Book Award

Richard Harper, Texture: Human Expression in the Age of Communications Overload, MIT Press, 2011. More Information

Honorable Mention: Eran Fisher, Media and New Capitalism in the Digital Age, Palgrave Macmillan. More Information

Switch to our mobile site